‘Forbidden Content’ Facebook Phishing Scam
The original site is no longer online; links go to the Internet Archive copy.
What the fact-checkers found
According to this message, which appears to come from ‘Content Reviews’ at Facebook, forbidden content and suspicious activity have been discovered in your Facebook account.
The message warns that because of this forbidden content, your account is at risk of being closed. It requests that you click a link to perform an ‘Instant Verification’ to deal with the issue.
However, the message is certainly not from any Facebook content review entity. Instead, it is a phishing scam designed to steal your Facebook account login credentials, your credit card details, and other personal information.
If you fall for the ruse and click the link in the message, you will be taken to a fraudulent website designed to look like a real Facebook page that asked you to update your security information, ostensibly as a means of providing evidence that your account is authentic.
The page asks for your account password and security answer as well as your name and contact details:
If you supply the requested information and click the ‘Protect Your Account’ button, you will be taken to a second fake page that asks you to provide your credit card details and billing address information:
After supplying this information, you will receive a final message claiming that the update process has now been completed.
Meanwhile, the criminals responsible for the attack can use the stolen information to hijack your Facebook account and use it to send copies of the scam message to all of your friends. The criminals will change your Facebook name to ‘Content Reviews’, ‘Facebook Admin’, or a similar name designed to make their fake messages seem more authentic.
The scammers can also use your credit card details to commit fraudulent transactions in your name. And, armed with the personal and financial information they have gathered, they may also be able to steal your identity.
Facebook phishing campaigns like this one are very common. Be wary of any Facebook message or email that claims that you must click a link to update account details or verify your information.
It is always safest to login to your Facebook account by entering the account address into your browser’s address bar or via a legitimate Facebook app.
Got a similar message?
Paste it into the detector and see whether it matches a known hoax.
Check a similar messageRelated fact-checks
Browse the archive →(HOAX) Facebook Mengakuisisi Semua Postingan Penggunanya
Kabar mengenai postingan di media sosial Facebook bahwa semua postingan yang telah diposting, baik itu dikunci untuk konsumsi terbatas maupun postingan yang sudah dihapus, menjadi milik seutuhnya Facebook telah dibantah oleh Facebook.
How to Recognise and Avoid Facebook Phishing Scams
Image: © depositphotos.com/ bizoon Online criminals use a variety of methods to target Facebook users. These include Facebook cloning, like-farming, and survey scams. But, Facebook phishing scams are the most dangerous and potentially damaging of these. Why?
‘Unblock Goverment’ Facebook Phishing Scam
The message is not from Facebook and has no connection to any government (or goverment). It is a phishing scam designed to trick users into divulging their Facebook account login details and other personal information to cybercriminals.
Microsoft Outlook ‘Account Blocked Due to System Error’ Phishing Scam
The email is not from Microsoft. It is a phishing scam designed to steal your Microsoft Account login details. According to this email, which claims to be from Microsoft, your account is about to be blocked due to a system error.