“Google Has Decided To Close Your Account”; Phishing Scam
The original site is no longer online; links go to the Internet Archive copy.
The claim
“Update Request” email claims that Google has decided to close your account unless you open an attached file and follow the account review and update instructions.
Initial phishing scam email.
Screenshot of attached PDF.
What the fact-checkers found
The email is not from Google and the claim that your account will be closed if you do not update your details is a lie. This is just one more in a long line of similar “update account” phishing scams.
Opening the attachment that comes with the email loads a PDF ( see screenshot below). The PDF falsely claims that you have been using an older version of Gmail and, therefore, you must click a link to complete the update task.
If you do click this link, you will be taken to a fraudulent website designed to look like a genuine Google page and asked to sign in with your Gmail address and password. After you have supplied your login details, you will be told that the update has been completed and you will be automatically redirected to the genuine Google Account home page.
But alas, the scammers can now use the login details you supplied to take control of your genuine Google account. They will be able to access, not only your Gmail account but other Google services including Google Drive, Google+, and YouTube. The criminals can use these services to pretend to be you and launch ongoing spam and scam attacks. They will also be able to access and misuse private information stored in these services.
Google will never send you an email that demands that you click a link to update account details. If you receive such an email, do not click any links or open any attachments that it contains.
The Google help pages include information on how to avoid and report such scams.
Got a similar message?
Paste it into the detector and see whether it matches a known hoax.
Check a similar messageRelated fact-checks
Browse the archive →Apple ‘Unusual Activity in Your Account’ Phishing Scam
According to this email, which purports to be from Apple, the company has noticed unusual activity in your account and believes that an unauthorised person has gained access.
AT&T ‘Account Limit Exceeded’ Phishing Scam
The email is not from AT&T. In fact, it is a phishing scam designed to trick AT&T account holders into divulging their account login details to Internet criminals.
Bigpond “Service Suspension”; Phishing Scam
The message is not from Bigpond or parent company Telstra. In fact, the email is a phishing scam designed to trick you into handing over your personal and financial information to Internet criminals.
IRS Refund Scam Email
Emails are phishing scams designed to steal private financial information For several years a series of phishing scam emails that claim to be from the US Internal Revenue Service (IRS) have been targeting US taxpayers.