PayPal ‘Your Account Has Been Closed’ Phishing Scam
The original site is no longer online; links go to the Internet Archive copy.
The claim
Email purporting to be from PayPal claims that your account has been closed because the company is concerned that someone has been using the account without your knowledge.
Subject: Final reminder : Your Account has been Closed!
What the fact-checkers found
The email is not from PayPal and the claim that your account has been closed is untrue. The message is a phishing scam designed to trick you into divulging your PayPal account login details to online criminals. (Detailed analysis included below).
This email, which at first glance looks like it was sent by online payment company PayPal, claims that your PayPal account has been closed. Supposedly, PayPal is concerned that someone has been using your account without your knowledge so the company has closed it as a precaution.
The email explains that you can activate your account by clicking a button and logging into PayPal. It includes the PayPal logo along with other graphics and links designed to make it seem more legitimate.
However, the email is not from PayPal and your account has not been closed as claimed. In fact, the email is a phishing scam designed to steal your PayPal account login details.
If you click the link in the email, you will be taken to a fraudulent website that contains a bogus PayPal login box. Like the email, the fake website includes the PayPal logo and secondary links to make it appear genuine. If you enter your PayPal email address and password and then click the ‘login’ button, the fake page will simply reload.
Meanwhile, however, your login details can be collected by cybercriminals and used to hijack your real PayPal account. Once the criminals have gained access, they can use it to conduct fraudulent transactions in your name.
PayPal phishing scams like this one are very common. Remember that genuine PayPal emails always address you by your full name. They will never use greetings such as ‘Hi [email address], or ‘Dear Customer’. Always login to PayPal by entering the address into your browser’s address bar or via an official app rather than by clicking a link in an email.
You can report PayPal phishing and learn more about these phishing scams via the information published on the PayPal website.
Got a similar message?
Paste it into the detector and see whether it matches a known hoax.
Check a similar messageRelated fact-checks
Browse the archive →PayPal ‘Your Transaction was Declined’ Phishing Scam
The email is not from PayPal. It is a quite sophisticated phishing scam attempt designed to steal PayPal login details and other financial information from recipients.
PayPal ‘We Declined Your Last Transaction’ Phishing Scam Email
According to an email that purports to be from PayPal, the company has declined your last transaction for your safety. Supposedly, the transaction looked suspicious so PayPal limited your account for security reasons.
‘We Noticed Some Unusual Activity’ PayPal Phishing Scam Email
The email is not from PayPal. It is a criminal ploy designed to steal your PayPal account login details, your credit card numbers, and other sensitive personal and financial information.
‘Your PayPal Account Was Deleted’ Phishing Scam
The email is not from PayPal. The message is a scam designed to trick users into divulging their PayPal account login details to Internet criminals.