‘Who Posted Your Photo Here’ Facebook Phishing Scam
The original site is no longer online; links go to the Internet Archive copy.
The claim
Facebook message asks the question ‘who posted your photo here’ and includes a link leading to a webpage that supposedly features the photo.
who posted your photo here :()
[Link Removed]
What the fact-checkers found
The message is a phishing scam designed to steal your Facebook login details.
This message, which is delivered via Facebook’s internal messaging system and may come from the account of one of your Facebook friends, asks the question ‘who posted your photo here’. The message includes a ‘shocked’ emoticon and implies that the photo in question is one that you may not have wished to have been publicly posted.
However, the link does not open a page with your photo on it. Instead, it opens a fraudulent Facebook app page designed to steal your Facebook login details. The page looks like it is a genuine part of Facebook. But, if you ‘login’ as requested, your Facebook email address and password will be sent to online criminals, who can then hijack your Facebook account and use it for their own nefarious purposes.
Once they have gained access, the criminals can use your account to launch various spam and scam campaigns in your name. They may send the ‘who posted your photo’ message to your Facebook friends via Facebook Messages. Some of your friends, thinking that you sent the message, may click the link and relinquish control of their accounts as well. In fact, the message you originally received was likely sent from the account of a friend who has been caught by the same scam.
The text and spelling in these scam messages may vary. This phishing campaign is similar to earlier campaigns that consisted of messages that asked people to click a link to save a photo or view a movie clip. Again, the links were designed to trick people into divulging their Facebook login credentials to criminals.
Other Facebook phishing emails may purport to be from Facebook admin staff and claim that your account is about to be disabled due to terms of service violations.
Got a similar message?
Paste it into the detector and see whether it matches a known hoax.
Check a similar messageRelated fact-checks
Browse the archive →‘Security of Your Account’ PayPal Phishing Scam
According to this email, PayPal has put your account on a limited list because the company needs more information from you. Supposedly, you are required to click a “confirm” button and follow the steps outlined to protect your account.
‘Confirm Your New Security Question’ PayPal Phishing Scam
PayPal customers are almost continually targeted via phishing scams and online criminals are always coming up with new angles to gain victims.